A massive announcement has been made by Google stating that they are changing the way we use Google + starting with a YouTube update. This has been for asked for by YouTubers for a while now and finally it’s happening.
So what will this all mean? In short, you will no longer need a Google + account to log in to YouTube, upload a video, or even send a message. Therefore, if you also leave a comment on someone’s video it will no longer appear on your Google + profile or the other way round for that matter.
This will also make the YouTube interface change and become more simple to navigate, send messages and find videos as well. You can also expect a change with the other services linked to Google + as well.
Here is the full announcement for you:
Google+ is quickly becoming a place where people engage around their shared interests, with the content and people who inspire them. In line with that focus, we’re continuing to add new features like Google+ Collections, where you can share and enjoy posts organized by the topics you care about. At the same time, we’ll also move some features that aren’t essential to an interest-based social experience out of Google+. For example, many elements of Google+ Photos have been moved into the new Google Photos app, and we’re well underway putting location sharing into Hangouts and other apps, where it really belongs. We think changes like these will lead to a more focused, more useful, more engaging Google+.
People have told us that accessing all of their Google stuff with one account makes life a whole lot easier. But we’ve also heard that it doesn’t make sense for your Google+ profile to be your identity in all the other Google products you use. So in the coming months, a Google Account will be all you’ll need to share content, communicate with contacts, create a YouTube channel and more, all across Google. YouTube will be one of the first products to make this change, and you can learn more on their blog. As always, your underlying Google Account won’t be searchable or followable, unlike public Google+ profiles. And for people who already created Google+ profiles but don’t plan to use Google+ itself, we’ll offer better options for managing and removing those public profiles. You’ll see these changes roll out in stages over several months. While they won’t happen overnight, they’re right for Google’s users—both the people who are on Google+ every single day, and the people who aren’t.